The Person The Professional The Student The King The Entrepreneur
THE PERSON so, who am i in this world? the real me, the individual and the person. i have tried to put down everything in precise form right from my birth, unto my graduation; and what i am doing currently. what is it that makes me, me? what is the purpose of my life? what are my core beliefs and values?
who am i
welcome > home > the person > who am i

Who is Sumith Kumar Puri?
Welcome to my Personal Pages. This is my address and home on the internet. Aside from my regular work, I spend time to keep this site updated with information on my Personal Life, Travels, Resume, Research, Patents, Publications, Technology, Software Links, My Company Details and Sample Code.

I was born and brought up in the city named Kochi, also known as the 'Queen of the Arabian Sea', in India. I am a Hindu Punjabi Kshatriya, born on 24-March-1982 and both my parents belong to the state of Punjab in India. I did my High School (1997) and Secondary School (1999) at one of the premier institutions in this part of the country, Naval Public School, Kochi, India. I was introduced into Computers and Programming very early in my life, encouraged by my father. Working on a MS-DOS based Intel 80386 33 MHz assembled machine, with 256KB RAM, I created my first full fledged business software at the age of 13. This was used for the purpose of Inventory Management and Accounts Management for my father's business. It was based on Clipper Programming Language with dbase III Plus as the database. Since then, I have created multiple Applications for both Academic and Professional Purposes using technologies such as qBasic, Visual Basic, FoxPro, COBOL, C, C++, Java, J2EE, Oracle, mySQL and Web Services.

For my graduation, I moved to a city popularly known as the 'Garden City of India', Bangalore, in October 1999. I completed my Bachelor of Engineering [Information Science & Engineering] from Sri Revana Siddeshwara Institute of Technology, Bangalore, India in June 2003. I started off my career with Infosys Technologies, Bangalore, India on 14 July 2003. I now have close to 15 years of Software Experience post my graduation as an Entrepreneur, Architect and Developer. Most of my Professional Software Experience is based on Java and Jakarta EE technologies. I am a Java enthusiast and twice certified on Core Java as Sun Certified Java Programmer on version 1.4 and 5.0 and multiple time on Enterprise Java as Sun Certified Business Component Developer on version 2.1 and 3.0; Brainbench Spring 2.5; Brainbench Hibernate 3.0 and Brainbench JEE 6.0. I am also  As I had started my life by learning Software Development via Implementation over Theory - I strongly continue in the same vein and often contribute to Open Source Projects. Through my Academic and Professional Experiences, I have also gained knowledge of Algorithms, Data Structures, Operating Systems, Networking and Databases. 

Of all the Experience gained via Multiple Modes mentioned above, my Experience & Skills are Java, J2EE, Spring, Hibernate, Struts, JAX-WS, JAAS, Linux, Spring Boot, Spring Data, Spring Cloud, Spring Security, Microservices, Performance, Stability, Scalability, Database Tuning, JVM/GC Tuning, Drools Expert/Fusion, Arquillian, AWS Step Functions, AWS API Gateway,  Apache Lucene, Struts, EJB  and mySQL. Also, I have gained expertise on Agile, Build & Release, Software Quality, Design Patterns, Software Architecture, Software Commercialisation and Real World Software Issues.

Contrastingly, I was also into Sports right from my childhood. One of the favorite and popular sport of my country is Cricket. I was the Vice-captain and later the Captain of my School Cricket Team. I was also the part of the under-13 team of my district at age 12. I was also into Table-Tennis and was a member of my School Table-Tennis team. I also played a bit of Volleyball, Football, Badminton and Hockey - but without any achievements to my name! I even tried myself at Tennis and Basketball, for a few months. I was also in multiple Individual and Group Activities during my School and College : Co-Curricular and Extra-Curricular. I won a few awards here and there in these Activities during my School and College; participating in which, laid foundations for a more complete me.

Aside from work, I am most interested in music which includes Bollywood, Indipop, English Pop, Soft Rock and Soothing Instrumentals. I try and take time out for fitness, when life moves at a normal pace! I love to Travel to new places, especially to beaches, wildlife resorts and waterfalls. I also like blogging, mostly Technical - but i am in the process of setting up a blog on all my Travels. Also, I am a foodie and love to explore something new which is local, whenever and wherever I travel. In 2017-2018, I travelled, for Tourism and Leisure, to Nepal, Bhutan, Myanmar, Thailand, Singapore, Indonesia/Bali and Malaysia. I had, earlier, travelled to United Kingdom (London) on Work Visa (2008, 2009, 2010).

My inspiration in life is my father, Shri. Romesh Chander Puri; especially in one aspect of my life, Business and Entrepreneurship. By education, he was only a Bachelor's and by Experience an Accountant and Entrepreneur. He was the Managing Director of  three Multi National Companies, as early as in the 1980's. He then went on to build businesses in the Manufacturing and also the Hospitality Industry. He was mostly based out of Kochi, India and the business centered around the areas neighbouring this place. I hope to continue his efforts, though parallel, in the Software and Information Technology Industry; albeit with a Global Reach and Spread. The formative years of my life were very important for me, working in tandem with him, in Software and Programming. Most of the Software that I built was with the Experience and Domain Knowledge that he had in Accounts, Inventory and related Topics.

Now, at age 40, In October 2022, I have 17.5 years of experience as an Engineering Leader, Architect, Developer, Scientist and Entrepreneur. I will ideally fit into the role of a Director of Engineering. I am a Java/Java EE/Microservices Expert and can Mentor/Manage/Lead Engineering Teams. I am also open for the roles of Principal Architect, VP (Engineering) or Chief Technology Officer. I am open for Full-Time Permanent Positions in Bengaluru Only. My overall experience of 17 Years 06 Months is aligned ~77% to Product Development and 23% to IT Consultancy/Services. I continuously build my abilities into Engineering Leadership, Software Architecture, Microservices, Java (v10-v20), J2EE (v7-v9), Cloud, Containerization, Agile, Spring (Boot/Cloud/Data/Security), Data Science (AI/ML/DM), Performance, Stability and Scalability. I am a Specialist in Core Java/Java EE/Microservices.

That's it, in short, About Me! :-)

the pictures, images, data and facts on this site are not endorsed or verified by any government, institution or organisation. the images, animations, data, text, cartoons and media are not held by any copyright. no part of this website including html, css, javascript, java, j2ee code or jpeg, mpeg, mp3 is part of any copyright; each of them are created via online tools or photo editing tools , hand coded, personal pictures of the creator or are publicly available. any resemblance or mention to any copyrighted or trademarked material is only a coincidence. there is no intention of any  defamation, malice or any intent to hurt the reputation of any organisation, institution,  country, politician, religion, caste, individual, race, movement or  place. you can send all queries, comments or feedback to (c) 2015 - my space. my world. my way.